Fires ravaged my community so I don't have much to say about diet culture or empowerment

Stuff you actually want to read about from Pam Moore

Hi , 

Happy New Year? I wanted to send you an upbeat message about envisioning where you want to be at the end of the year. I thought I might tell you about my recent mini-retreat, how I structured it, and what I got out of it. I could have written about why I'm taking a full week off from exercise of any kind (except walking and core exercises for PT.) But when I was in Mexico with my family thinking about when to reapply the kids' sunblock and whether to have lunch at the buffet or just grab a sandwich and eat it by the pool, I saw a missed call from my neighbor. A neighbor who has never one time called me. Then a missed call from a dear friend's mother, who lives in another state.I was in a damp bathing suit when my husband called from our hotel room to tell me what he'd seen on Twitter. Fires were raging less than two miles from our house in Boulder, Colorado.Fires? It was December. My brain was not computing. "Wait, what?" I asked Dan. He explained strong winds, (like 100 mph strong) had kicked up. What started as a grass fire quickly became the kind of wildfires you want to believe only happen in rural places in California, Arizona, Montana. The kind of fires you read about and think, "That could never happen in my neighborhood," and you believe your own lie, because what's the alternative? Live in a constant state of panic? Keep your passports, birth certificates, the piles of letters your Memeé addressed to "Precious Pamela," and all the misspelled birthday from your kids in your purse at all times just in case? Relocate? And if you left, where would you even go? Our good friends' entire house burned down before they even received an evacuation notice. Other friends fled in a hurry not not knowing if they'd have anything to come back to. Some were at work when they received the call to evacuate and had no way of retrieving their pets, who awaited their return in their crates or on a sunny patch of carpet.Entire neighborhoods have been destroyed. Some have their homes but need to stay elsewhere because of toxic ash and debris infestation. Businesses that provided community members' livelihoods are decimated. Housing options in an already squeezed, expensive market are even more limited. It feels totally ridiculous to tell you about anything related to diet culture, self-compassion, or confidence when my community is dealing with profound loss and destruction. As the pandemic rages on, less than a year since a man with a gun murdered ten people at the supermarket down the street from my home, I'm feeling sad, unmoored, and anxious. When we told our kids about the fire, my nine-year-old said, "First the King Soopers shooting, now the fires. Can Boulder catch a break?"If you want to help, please consider the options below. xo,  

How You Can Help Marshall Fire Victims

Community Foundation Boulder CountySister Carmen Community Center Jewish Colorado Fire Relief FundColorado Gives Fire ReliefCommunity Cycles (they're giving bikes to those affected by the fire)Help a particular individual or family via GoFundMe.*Consider finding an "underdog," or someone who has met little of their fundraising goal and may have fewer social supports and resources.

5 Things Worth Checking Out 

The Real Fit podcast features real conversations with women athletes on topics like body image and confidence, my goal is to share stories that will let you know you're not alone and that you're already enough. Listen on Apple Podcasts, Spotify, and anywhere you listen to juicy podcasts. New episodes every Tuesday.  

Are you ready to renegotiate your relationshipwith movement, food, and your body? 

I’m on a mission to help badass women like you stop wasting your precious energy on the quest to shrink your body. You were made to do amazing things and your obsession with food, exercise, and body image is a huge distraction.Together we can clear that mental clutter and turbocharge your path to being your best self.I'm a weight-neutral health coach, occupational therapist, and certified personal trainer and I offer 1:1 health coaching services

My 34-page e-book, 7 Pitches that Sold is everything I wish I’d known when I started as a freelance writer, including pitches that turned into stories in The Washington Post, Runner's World, and Outside. **Use the code realfit50 to get half off*

Thank you so much for inviting me into your inbox. 

If you appreciate receiving this newsletter, my podcast, or any of the other content I'm creating,you can show your gratitudeby treating me to a cup of coffee. 

Website
Instagram
Twitter
LinkedIn