For best results, avoid self-loathing

Stuff you actually want to read about from Pam Moore

Hi ,

When I launched my podcast last year, I promised myself I wouldn't be a perfectionist about it. I told myself I wouldn't get caught up in trying to do it the way everyone else was doing it and that good enough would absolutely be good enough. At the time I was homeschooling my kids, my freelance writing was growing, and I knew I didn't have the bandwidth to support my over-achieving tendencies. Almost immediately, I broke that promise.I'd originally decided to release an episode every other week. But right away, I was so excited about all the interviews in my backlog, I said screw it, I'm putting out an episode a week, LET'S DO THIS. I WILL FIGURE IT OUT. Within a year, I had figured out something major. Releasing an episode a week (while continuing to fulfill my commitments to my clients and editors, studying to become a certified intuitive eating counselor, fitting in exercise and sleep, and prioritizing my relationships) was not sustainable.This show which was supposed to be a joyful, creative outlet, quickly became a source of stress. I was always scrambling to hit publish at the last minute and I could never get ahead of it. It made me feel panicky. Putting out four episodes a month was unsustainable from the start. But it took me a year to do something about it because of my fear. Fear that I was doing it wrong. Fear that my podcast was a failure if it wasn't a weekly show. Fear that it wouldn't grow fast enough. Fear that if my show wasn't meeting some arbitrary metrics, it – and by extension — I, was a failure. If there's one thing I've learned from the podcast, it's that successful people (e.g. every single one of the 30+ amazing women I've interviewed) don't use external metrics to measure success. Numbers — including podcast downloads, money earned, a number on the scale, clothing sizes, race times, social media followers, percent body fat — never tell the whole story. In fact, numbers obscure the important part of the story.Numbers are a distraction from the questions that matter the most but are harder to answer. Questions like: Does this (still) bring me joy? Does this make me feel powerful? Are my choices aligned with my values? My ego was driving me to obsess about the numbers. My heart allowed me to sit with the harder questions. Which was hard because my ego is like a small barky dog, always trying to get my attention and freaking out about perceived threats that aren't actually threats, while my heart is more like a solid tree, quietly ready to offer shade or stability or nourishment anytime without getting all up in my face about it. I could have just told you, "Hey y'all, I'm moving to a twice a month podcast release schedule, hope you like it! The end!" But that's not the part that matters. What matters is me telling you that I'm still having to learn that you can't bludgeon yourself into a better version of yourself. There's no metric that's going to make you feel like what you're doing is enough if you don't already know that you're enough as you are, right now, full stop. There's no number on a scale, finish line, paycheck, or number of downloads that can fill a gap between how you spend your time and what you actually value. I value connection, curiosity, and creativity. What do you value? I'd love for you to hit reply and tell me! (Seriously, it's just me on the other side of this email, not some complex email campaign robot machine.) xo,P.S. If your preoccupation with food, exercise, and your weight are getting in the way of living a life that aligns with your values, I can help. Click here to find out how. P.P.S. If you haven't seen this newsletter in a while, it might be going to your Promos in Gmail. If that's the case, go back to your inbox and drag this email over to your Primary tab and it should start showing up there in the future. 

6 Things Worth Checking Out 

Know someone who would enjoy this newsletter?CLICK HERE to forward it to a friend. 

The Real Fit podcast features real conversations with women athletes on topics like body image and confidence, my goal is to share stories that will let you know you're not alone and that you're already enough. Listen on Apple Podcasts, Spotify, and anywhere you listen to juicy podcasts. New episodes every Tuesday.   

Are you ready to renegotiate your relationshipwith movement, food, and your body? 

I’m on a mission to help badass women like you stop wasting your precious energy on the quest to shrink your body. You were made to do amazing things and your obsession with food, exercise, and body image is a huge distraction.Together we can clear that mental clutter and turbocharge your path to being your best self.I'm a weight-neutral health coach, occupational therapist, and certified personal trainer and I offer 1:1 health coaching services

My 34-page e-book, 7 Pitches that Sold is everything I wish I’d known when I started as a freelance writer, including pitches that turned into stories in The Washington Post, Runner's World, and Outside. **Use the code realfit50 to get half off*

Thank you so much for inviting me into your inbox. 

If you appreciate receiving this newsletter, my podcast, or any of the other content I'm creating,you can show your gratitudeby treating me to a cup of coffee. 

Let's connect! 

Website
Instagram
Twitter
LinkedIn