You'll never believe what happened when I renovated my closet. (Or maybe you will)

Stuff you actually want to read about from Pam Moore

Hi ,When we moved two years ago, I started dreaming about a closet renovation. The primary closet had plenty of space but I didn't like the layout.First, I consulted a custom closet place. (Too expensive). Ikea emerged as the obvious alternative. (The supply chain had other plans for me). I rejoiced when I found a shop in California that promised to create the closet of my dreams out of pine. (Waaaay out of my budget). And because I know you’re already thinking it, yes, I considered Elfa. (Just not a fan). My friend said I should just do it myself. I told her she was out of her mind. But the idea wouldn’t leave me alone. I can use a level and a drill. I’ve watched a few DIY Instagram influencer reels (as in, way too many). And my design didn’t have to be exactly like the Pinterest closets I’d been drooling over. This was totally achievable. I told my mom about my plans, assuming she’d be excited for me. She’s quite handy herself. When she visits, she routinely fixes things in my house that I didn’t know were broken. My mom is the first person I call when I’m dealing with water damage, suspicious appliance noises, and dying plants. So when I told my mom about my DIY endeavor, I was surprised by her response. “Why don’t you let your handyman do it for you?” she asked, genuinely curious.“Why would I have him do it when I can do it myself!?” I huffed. Perhaps my mother didn’t understand just how resourceful I am, I thought. I, after all, single-handedly removed the sliding doors from my office closet and replaced its wire shelving with the custom wood built-in shelving that I’d selected, cut, sanded, stained, and installed. Let her underestimate me, I thought. I could practically taste the vindication I’d feel when my handiwork was complete. With my electronic stud finder, I located the studs. Then rounded up my brackets I'd ordered on Etsy, the level, a pencil, my drill, and set to work. Immediately I noticed the brackets were very heavy. I needed two hands to manipulate them... but I also needed two hands on the drill. Plus, there was the fact that the bracket wasn’t big enough to let me press the drill against the wall at a 90-degree angle. I wasn’t about to let a  few details stand between me and the closet of my dreams. With my shoulder keeping the bracket in place, and a stream of sweat snaking its way down my bra, I pressed the drill into the bolt. Driving the bolt into the stud, I felt powerful and confident… until the bolt was about halfway in, at which point, no amount of pressure or will could screw it in any farther. The source of the barrier was a total mystery. Meanwhile, my forearm was on fire and my back was starting to ache. It was my first bolt of 16. I texted my handyman to ask about his schedule.Seven days and many trips to Home Depot later, the closet is done. I love it. And thanks to my handyman, no people, structures, or tools were harmed in the process. What I’m saying is, there’s nothing wrong with focusing on your strengths and delegating tasks or projects that don’t come easily. It’s okay to ask for help. 

xo,

P.S. You deserve to put your energy into the stuff that matters (e.g. NOT a number on the scale). If you're ready to heal your relationship with food, exercise, and your body, I can help. Click here to find out how.  

4 Things Worth Checking Out

  • If you have three minutes: I could read this interview a hundred times and pick out a different pearl of wisdom every time. I promise it will make you smile (and maybe make you want to finally take that leap.)

  • If you have forty-five minutes: On the Real Fit podcast, I interviewed marathoner Maor Tiyouri, an Israeli Olympian. I especially loved what she had to say about the adventures she got into while injured.

  • If you have a couple of hours: Check out Good Luck to You, Leo Grande on Hulu because there aren't enough films that highlight what it means for women to age or to explore their pleasure. Emma Thompson's performance is stunning. (And if you forget the name of this movie, don't google "older woman hires sex worker movie" as I did. Trust me, you will find a lot of movies but none will be this one.)

  • If you have thirty seconds: Jamie Lee Curtis is a renegade goddess and I love her for this IG post

The Real Fit podcast features real conversations with women athletes on topics like body image and confidence, my goal is to share stories that will let you know you're not alone and that you're already enough. Listen on Apple Podcasts, Spotify, and anywhere you listen to juicy podcasts. New episodes every other Tuesday.   

Are you ready to heal your relationship with food and exercise? 

I’m on a mission to help smart women like you stop wasting your precious energy on the quest to shrink your body. You were made to do amazing things and your obsession with food, exercise, and body image is a huge distraction.Together we can clear that mental clutter and turbocharge your path to being your best self.I'm an intuitive eating coach, occupational therapist, and certified personal trainer and I offer 1:1 health coaching services

Thank you so much for inviting me into your inbox. 

If you appreciate receiving this newsletter, my podcast, or any of the other content I'm creating,you can show your gratitudeby treating me to a cup of coffee. 

Did you get this newsletter from a friend? CLICK HERE to get it directly in your inbox every other Tuesday.As an insider, you'll get your FREE guide:"11 Things You Can Do Right Now to Feel Better in Your Body."

Let's connect! 

Website
Instagram
Twitter
LinkedIn