If you need permission to take a break, this is your hall pass

Stuff you actually want to read about from Pam Moore

Hi ,I thought I would have this newsletter drafted, revised, and scheduled before my vacation. I also thought I'd have every piece of laundry in my house washed, dried, folded, and put away before I left. (That was cute!) I thought I'd reply to every email on my to-do list. (Also very cute.) I thought I'd finally get around to fixing this issue I'm having with my phone where people can't leave me voicemails. (Another thing I did not do. TBH, I'm not mad about never having to listen to voicemails.)I'm actually not mad about any of it. In a culture that's telling us to constantly hustle our way to a better version of ourselves, I find it harder to slow down and chill than I do to grind, grind, grind.Typing those words, I exhaled a big breath I didn't realize I'd been holding. If you're taking a break to enjoy the long days and stretched-out shadows of summer, I applaud you. And if you're finding it kind of hard to set your to-do list aside and rest, I see you. I also have a message for you: Rest is not something you have to earn. You don't have to be on the verge of burn-out to take it easy once in a while. We weren't designed to be productive every waking minute of our lives. (Science shows there are many benefits of pausing to let your mind wander.)All of this to say, I'll be back with one of my regular newsletters in a couple of weeks. For now, feel free to check out my latest episode of Real Fit, a quick ten-minute Tuesday in which I discuss what joyful movement is and why it matters. Also, I loved Stephanie Roth-Goldberg's recent IG post busting a common myth about Intuitive Eating. (And if you want to hear more from her, I had the pleasure of interviewing her on Real Fit; you can listen to our chat here.)

xo,

P.S. Are you tired of stressing about food, exercise, and the scale? I can help. Click here to find out how.  

Did you get this newsletter from a friend? CLICK HERE to get it directly in your inbox every other Tuesday.As an insider, you'll get your FREE guide:"11 Things You Can Do Right Now to Feel Better in Your Body."

Let's connect! 

Website
Instagram
Twitter
LinkedIn