Going into 2024 with intention

...and a few prompts to help you set them.

Recently, one of my editors asked me to write an article on how to develop a healthy relationship with food for Runner’s World. (Hello, dream assignment!?) 

Was it challenging to address this wide-ranging, nuanced topic in about a thousand words?

Yes.

Was it so much fun to talk to experts on this topic and wrap up all their knowledge (plus my own slant on what pieces should make it into the article) in a tidy package and tie it up with a metaphorical bow?

Also yes. 

One of the tips I keep coming back to is number four: Go into social situations with intention. This one came from my interview with Stephanie Roth-Goldberg, a psychotherapist specializing in eating disorders and sports psychology.

Here’s a snippet from the article: 

If restaurants, parties, and other situations where you’re not in control of the menu stress you out, try setting an intention before your next social gathering.

Especially as we enter the holiday season—and all the parties, gatherings, gift baskets, and treats that tend to come with it—try focusing on what you want to experience at your next gathering, rather than the calories you’re going to consume. “Check if any stories you’re telling yourself about food align with that,” Roth-Goldberg says.

If your intention is to enjoy the holiday, ask yourself what that means to you. “Food is so often a part of that,” says Roth-Goldberg. And often, enjoying the holiday means allowing yourself to enjoy food.

If your goal is to connect with and enjoy time with your friends and family, but the noise in your head about calories is interfering with your ability to be fully present, coming back to your intention can help you redirect your attention on the present moment rather than your food anxiety.

What I didn’t have room to say in the article (see: that pesky 1k word limit!) is that it’s important to be clear not just about what your intentions are going into social gatherings but also what your intentions are, period. 

As the year comes to a close and many of us are thinking about what worked this year, what we want to let go of, and what we hope to make space for in the new year, it’s a great time to ask yourself a couple of questions: 

  • What are my core values?

  • Are my actions aligned with those values? 

If those don’t resonate, some other questions that can get you thinking in that vein include…

  • Who do I want to be?

  • What do I want to contribute to my community?

  • What do I want my legacy to look like?

  • What would I want people to say at my funeral?

  • What do I want more of in my life?

  • What do I want less of?

  • Who do I admire and why?

  • When was the last time I experienced joy?

Now ask yourself whether the time and energy you're putting into thoughts and actions related to food and exercise is contributing to your ability to live in a way that aligns with your values.

Is eating nourishing foods and moving your body in ways that feel good to you giving you the energy you need to embark on the projects you’re excited about?

Or are your thoughts and behaviors around food and exercise stealing the life energy you could instead give to your dreams, goals, and connections with friends and family?  

If the answer is yes, maybe it’s time to let that shit go. If you need support, just hit reply. I’d be honored to be part of your journey.

xo,

PS If you’re in the Boulder/Denver area come join me at Xero Shoes Denver store on Saturday, January 11th for a FREE talk on Intuitive Eating. There’s a general talk at 1pm and a talk geared toward athletes at 2:30. (It’s free but you do have to sign up- just click on the link to save your spot).

Do you love this newsletter?

Uh Huh Yes GIF

Giphy

If you do, help me help people STOP DIETING and forward this email to a friend! (And if you don’t love these emails, please unsubscribe! I don’t want to be a source of inbox clutter for you.)

5 things worth checking out

If you have…

Four minutes: Here’s that Runner’s World article I mentioned above.

60 seconds: My thoughts on Oprah’s interview with People in which she reveals she’s taking weight-loss medication. (And if we’re not already connected on LinkedIn, why the heck not!?)

Three minutes and you’re interested in going a little deeper down the Oprah rabbit hole, here’s a gift link to Jennifer Weiner’s thoughts on that in the NYT. (h/t Nina Badzin.)

Two minutes and a tissue handy, this song by Kate Yeager is for you.

The desire to work on yourself in a community of mid-life women: Check out my friend Alison’s Awakening in Midlife Circles, with virtual and in-person options. I attended her solstice event this weekend and it was like medicine for my soul.

Is menopause stressing you out??

…Check out my friend Dr. Maria Luque’s free newsletter because this woman has ANSWERS to all your menopause questions. (And the answers are NOT doubling down on restriction or soul-crushing workouts!)

Upcoming in-person events!

Click on the image below for details…

👂 Give your ears a treat 👂

Need a good listen as you’re going over the river and through the woods to grandmother’s house? (Or while you’re jammed up in holiday traffic to see your in-laws??)

Did someone forward you this email?

If you want to make sure you keep getting it directly in your inbox, get on the list (and get a free gift when you do!)