Going boldly đź––

What showing up differently in my business has to do with rejecting diet culture

How would a bold person act?

I recently joined a group coaching program for self-employed creatives and in a recent session, our coach asked us to list all the ways we wanted to show up in our businesses. In a few minutes, I came up with at least a dozen adjectives.

But the one that stood out to me was “bold.” Because even though I can be opinionated and unfiltered, I can also be wildly insecure…. which is exhausting (and not just for my husband, haha).

As an athlete, I know that mood follows action, not the other way around. It’s not often that I feel like pumping up my tires and taking my bike for a spin. But 99.9 percent of the time, I’m happy to be in motion once I’ve covered a couple of miles.

So I shouldn’t have been surprised when our coach posed the question: How would you act if you were showing up the way you wanted to? As in, what specific actions would you take?

So I made a list of actions…

  • I’d ask for what I wanted (politely) without wasting energy worrying about offending someone.

  • I wouldn’t decide that the answer would be “no” before I even asked for an opportunity.

  • I wouldn’t feel obligated to reply to an email before I knew exactly what I wanted to communicate, just to make the other person feel like I wasn’t ghosting them.

  • I wouldn’t worry about what all the “gurus” and “social media ninjas” were saying about how to approach my LinkedIn strategy.

  • I wouldn’t twist myself into a pretzel to accommodate other people’s schedules.

That was several weeks ago and my friends, it is working. I feel more grounded and I’m getting more of what I want; as in clients, interesting writing assignments, meaningful connections with other professionals in my space, and money! I feel like I’m not supposed to talk about money but… I said money. What can I tell you, I’m entering my bold phase.)

So I have a question for YOU. If you’re wishing you could be in a different/smaller/leaner/snatched-er body… What are you hoping to feel once you inhabit that body?

Because it’s probably not the body you’re after. In my own experience, and based on what I hear from my clients, it’s how you expect to feel once you get that body. It’s human to want belonging, acceptance, confidence, freedom, ease, pleasure, confidence, health, and energy. Diet culture tells us weight loss is the magic key to all those treasures. BUT IT’S A LIE. (I wasn’t kidding about my bold era.)

âťť

It’s human to want belonging, acceptance, confidence, freedom, ease, pleasure, confidence, health, and energy.

Diet culture tells us weight loss is the magic key to all those treasures.

For real. You can access any of those states in the body you’re in right now. Let’s say you want to experience confidence. Ask yourself what confidence means to you. What would a confident person do?

Maybe you think a confident person would wear a bikini. Let’s start there. But let’s say you’d rather get stung by a swarm of 18,843 of bees than show up in public with your stomach showing.

What else could you do that makes you feel confident and is also a step toward eventually wearing a two-piece? Maybe that’s… wearing a bold red lipstick or a fun hat. If you normally wear muted colors, maybe you wear a bright scarf or sweater If you feel good and strong in your body after a Zumba class - sign up for one. Heck, pick one to go to every week and get it on your calendar. If you’re a member of the leggings-at-the-gym club, try wearing shorts at your next workout.

It’ll probably feel awkward at first. But the more you get out of your comfort zone, the bigger your comfort zone grows.

And I’m not just saying fun words here. (Remember how I told you in my last newsletter I’m about to try stand-up comedy!? That is terrifying AF!!!)

xo,

P.S. If you need support on your journey to body acceptance and food freedom, let’s talk! I have a few openings starting in mid-January.

Is menopause stressing you out??

Me too, and I’m not even there yet. (This is an Are You There God, It’s Me Margaret situation in reverse).

If you’re…

  • feeling like menopause is turning your world upside down

  • frustrated by the changes in your body

  • confused about what exercises are best during menopause

…Check out my friend Dr. Maria Luque’s free newsletter because this woman has ANSWERS to all your menopause questions. (And the answers are NOT doubling down on restriction or soul-crushing workouts!)

Maria has an impressive arsenal of qualifications but most importantly, she’s passionate about helping women become stronger, happier, saner, and more open to fun and adventure, through her New Moves Coaching program.

(Also, she’s a super cool voice in the weight-neutral fitness space and I happen to like her a lot.)

5 things worth checking out

Thinking about giving yourself the gift of food freedom in the new year?

Here’s what one of my clients said about working with me:

Pam is an amazing listener, creative and thoughtful in her approach, and patient enough to accept that the path to a healthier relationship to food is not a straight-line, hurry-up endeavor. Pam is not at all wed to one way to work – including the fact that she was willing to let me bring my husband into our conversations where need be. She has been there herself without burdening you with that fact. It’s like having an experienced mentor who wants you to succeed, on your own terms and in your own way. Without hesitation. If there was a rating system for coaches, therapists, etc. Pam would be off the charts. 

Susanne B.

Did you know I offer a free 30-minute call over Zoom or the phone? It’s a no-pressure chance to get to know each other and see if we’d be a fit.

Upcoming in-person events!

Click on the image below for details…

đź‘‚ Give your ears a treat đź‘‚

Need a good listen as you’re going over the river and through the woods to grandmother’s house? (Or while you’re jammed up in holiday traffic to see your in-laws??)