Let the unlearning begin

It's not sexy but it works

If you’ve ever looked in the mirror and thought weight loss (or weight gain or just getting a little — or a lot — more swole) was the best, quickest route to FINALLY feeling comfortable in your skin and fully becoming the bad bitch you really are, I have two things to tell you.

1| That’s a lie that diet culture tells us.

Changing your outside is not the way to change your inside.

I know because I’ve tried and it just doesn’t work that way. Besides, if thinness were truly the route to inner peace and self-love, thin people wouldn’t engage in disordered eating or experience eating disorders, depression, anxiety, or any other mental health issues.

2| You can unlearn all the lies diet culture has told you

I know, “unlearning” isn’t nearly as sexy as “torching cellulite” but it’s foundational to self-acceptance.

Imagine…

  • looking in the mirror and being okay with what you see

  • enjoying a rich meal with zero guilt

  • showing up at a restaurant and feeling free to order what you actually want, instead of what you think you should have

  • noticing your pants are tight and.. still having a really good day

This is all possible. But first, you have to re-evaluate everything you thought you knew about weight and how it affects health and happiness.

Let’s unlearn that diet culture bullshit together

Join me at the Louisville Recreation Center for Diet Culture Detox, a three-week, in-person workshop.

It begins on Tuesday, February 6th from 6:30-7:30, it’s super affordable, and I’d LOVE to see you there. (And if you can’t make it but would be interested in a virtual option, just hit reply and write “virtual.”)

Questions? Just want to say hi? It’s just me on the other side of the reply button and I LOVE hearing from readers.

xo,

PS If you love this newsletter, forward it to a friend who would appreciate this message. (And if you don’t love it and have no idea why you’re getting it, feel free to scroll down and hit “unsubscribe")

Do you have plans for Taylor Swift Superbowl Sunday?

Watch me tell jokes on a stage with a bunch of funny women!

3 things worth checking out

If you…

Are you sick of hating your body and stressing about food?

Did you know I offer a free 30-minute call over Zoom or the phone? It’s a no-pressure chance to get to know each other and see if we’d be a fit for 1:1 intuitive eating coaching.

Here’s what one of my clients said about working with me:

Without hesitation. If there was a rating system for coaches, therapists, etc. Pam would be off the charts. 

Susanne B.

👂 Give your ears a treat 👂

Wondering who I am? I’m a certified intuitive eating counselor, occupational therapist, and health and fitness journalist with bylines in outlets like The Washington Post, Time, Runner’s World, SELF, and many others. Also a 6x marathoner and 2x Ironman finisher and certified personal trainer with a 20+ year history of teaching indoor cycling, I love riding bikes (gravel and road) and weightlifting. My superpower is my ability to connect with people.

You can check out my coaching offerings here and follow me on LinkedIn and Instagram.