Navigating postpartum body image is really freaking hard.

Navigating postpartum body image is really freaking hard.

Stuff you actually want to read about from Pam Moore

Hi ,

I hate to bring up such a polarizing topic this early in the newsletter, but here goes. How do you feel about Peeps? 

For many of us, it's super easy to talk about what we eat (or don't).But what about talking about how and why we eat? That tends to be hard.Which is why I created RECLAIM: a one-day (in-person) retreat for women 18+ who want to experience food freedom

Taking place in Boulder, Colorado, on May 6th, through structured journaling, guided meditation, embodied movement, art, and of course, the magic that happens when women come together, we’ll: 

  • explore our beliefs about food and bodies

  • begin to let go of those that no longer serve us

  • and write a new narrative. 

It’s the perfect Mother’s Day or un-birthday gift to yourself, plus it’ll be way more therapeutic than a trip to TJ Maxx. (Details here) **Use the code RealNourished50 for $50 off**And here is our Real Nourished reader question of the week: I gained weight during pregnancy and I feel so much pressure to get my body back. It has been over a year since my second baby was born. I attend Orange Theory regularly, and I love how it makes me feel, although I’m not seeing the weight loss I’d like. I’m not interested in dieting, but I feel so uncomfortable in my body in its current size. What do you suggest? —K. A: First, let's acknowledge that postpartum is such a difficult season of life on so many levels, and we do not need this added pressure to “bounce back.” Can everyone join me in raising a middle finger to the pervasive expectation? You grew a human. You birthed them. Maybe you’re breastfeeding. And you said you have another (small?) child to care for. Maybe you’re also dealing with the pressures of your professional life. Or perhaps you’re recreating your identity now that you’ve stopped working to be the primary parent. Maybe you’re renegotiating your roles and responsibilities with your partner now that you’re a family of four. Or maybe you’re doing this alone, which brings another layer of complexity. And you’re probably doing it all on very limited sleep. That’s a lot. Like a metric sh*t ton of pressure even under the best of circumstances — without feeling like your body needs to look a specific way. And yes I know life is a miracle, they grow up so fast, and every moment is precious… And it’s all true. Motherhood is beautiful and messy and really, really hard, even if this its something you wanted and planned for. Okay, so what do I suggest? I have lots of ideas. (If we worked together, we’d try different things until we landed on a few that resonated). But without knowing too many details, here’s where I’d start. CLICK HERE to read more. (Just so you know, this is a juicy one with some useful nuggets for you even if you're not postpartum.)

xo,

P.S. If YOU have a question about intuitive eating, drop it right here (you can be anonymous!) and I'll answer it in a future newsletter.P.P.S. Do you have a food/body/exercise issue you'd like to discuss face to (virtual) face? Let's meet over Zoom for a free, no- pressure 30-minute consult. You'll leave with at least one strategy you can start using immediately. Click here to schedule. 

5 Things Worth Checking Out

  • If you have an hour: I got to chat with mentor/coach/visionary Angie Byrd on her fabulous podcast, Midlife Magic and Mayhem. We talked about my journey from disordered eating to intuitive eating, the ways in which intuitive eating can impact so much more than just what's on your plate, some of the tools I use with my clients, and so much more.

  • If you have five minutes: Justine Bateman's approach to aging makes her my idol

  • If you have six minutes: An interesting look at the inherent privilege that intuitive eating requires

  • If you, like me, were obsessed with Judy Blume's iconic novel Are You There God, It's Me Margaret, as a pre-teen: Then you probably know this already, but it comes out on the big screen on April 28th. I got tickets for myself and my two girls (ages 8 and 11) to see an early screening this week and my level of excitement could not be higher if I had Taylor Swift tickets. 

Thank you so much for inviting me into your inbox. 

If you appreciate receiving this newsletter, my podcast, or any of the other content I'm creating,you can show your gratitudeby treating me to a cup of coffee. 

Did you get this newsletter from a friend? CLICK HERE to get it directly in your inbox every other Tuesday.As an insider, you'll get your FREE guide:"11 Things You Can Do Right Now to Feel Better in Your Body."