What to do when your partner is engaging in all the diet talk

Stuff you actually want to read about from Pam Moore

Hi ,

I created something special and I’m so excited to share it with you. It’s RECLAIM: a one-day (in-person) retreat for women 18+ who want to experience food freedom. Taking place in Boulder, Colorado on May 6th, through structured journaling, guided meditation, embodied movement, art, and of course, the magic that happens when women come together, we’ll explore our beliefs about food and bodies, begin to let go of those that no longer serve us, and write a new narrative. It’s the perfect Mother’s Day or un-birthday gift to yourself, plus it’ll be way more therapeutic than a trip to TJ Maxx. (Details here) Use the code RealNourished25 for $25 off at checkoutAnd here is Real Nourished reader question of the week from Jen: Q: My husband is big on “diet talk.” He’s always referring to food as “good” or “bad.” If he has a “bad” eating day he talks about “getting back on the horse” to have a good eating day tomorrow. How do you recommend responding to this?A: I seriously love this question. Click here to read my answer. 

xo,

P.S. If YOU have a question about intuitive eating, drop it right here (you can be anonymous!) and I'll answer it in a future newsletter.P.P.S. Do you have a food/body/exercise issue you'd like to discuss face to (virtual) face? Let's meet over Zoom for a free 30-minute consult. You'll leave with at least one strategy you can start using immediately. To schedule, reply to this email with the words "free consult." 

5 Things Worth Checking Out

  • If you have an hour: I interviewed health coach, intuitive eating counsellor, and endurance swimmer Gillian Goerzen on the Real Fit podcast and we covered overcoming bulimia, self-love, body acceptance, and so much more. Editing a podcast can be tedious but I had a blast re-living this convo. 

  • If you have another hour: I got to chat with career coach Cassie Spencer on the Happenstance podcast about my journey from occupational therapy to journalism to intuitive eating coaching. (Listen to learn about the one random decision that led to my mid-life career shift and the dumb things impostor syndrome has made me say!)

  • If you have 20 seconds: My take on a certain celebrity's "wellness" regimen. 

  • If you have five minutes: Writer, sewist, and body-positive influencer Elizabeth Endicott asks "Who does flattering serve" in a beautiful essay on her complicated feelings about her double chin for Slate

  • If you have six minutes: I found Michelle Allison's article for the Atlantic super interesting but I think our obsession with diet culture is more about a desire for belonging (vis a vis thinness) than an aversion to death. 

Thank you so much for inviting me into your inbox. 

If you appreciate receiving this newsletter, my podcast, or any of the other content I'm creating,you can show your gratitudeby treating me to a cup of coffee. 

Did you get this newsletter from a friend? CLICK HERE to get it directly in your inbox every other Tuesday.As an insider, you'll get your FREE guide:"11 Things You Can Do Right Now to Feel Better in Your Body."