how about we do this together?

everything is easier with friends

I got my first road bike in 2003 with my tax return and a dream of someday doing a triathlon.

The problem? I hadn’t ridden a bike of any kind, let alone a bike with super skinny tires and clipless pedals, in over a decade. I loved spin class, but I was terrified of riding anywhere near cars.

So I did what any self-respecting 24-year-old woman would do in the ancient times before workout buddy finding apps and Facebook groups existed. I invited myself on bike rides with literally anyone who would go with me. As scary as it was to ride with “real” cyclists, it was scarier to go alone as I was learning my way around the roads.

My unlikely cycling companions included a co-worker’s boyfriend, a neighbor who was my parents’ age (who later became a dear friend and awesome training buddy), and a much older married guy who, in retrospect, was probably far too eager to ride bikes with me. (It took a while to find women to ride with because the sport skewed way more bro-heavy in the early aughts than it does now.)

Soon, I started joining local group rides, where, over time, I made friends. And while I was busy chatting with my new buddies, I learned all kinds of road biking lessons. Such as: it’s a bad idea to show up for a 50-mile ride without snacks, you need to know how to change a flat tire, and, bike shorts were not designed to be worn with underwear.

Within a year of my first ride on that bike, I won the novice category in my first sprint triathlon, and four years later I did my first Ironman.

This is 25-year-old me in 2004 at the Lake Murray sprint tri in South Carolina, where it was 90 degrees and 10000 percent humidity by 7am.

I got so much farther so much faster by riding in community than I ever would have by myself…. Which is why I am so excited to offer group coaching.

SAVOR is  for active women who are ready to transform the way they think about food, exercise, and their bodies.

  • We'll meet 2x/month, beginning in October, over Zoom, generally on the 2nd and 4th Thursday of the month. 

  • The first monthly session will focus on one teaching topic with live coaching on that topic, and the second will be more free flowing, including live coaching on whatever challenges are showing up for group members. 

  • All SAVOR members will have access to a private, members-only Facebook group where you can connect for additional support from me and from each other.

This is the program I wish I’d had when I started to release my obsessive energy around food and exercise.

You can get in for as little as $47/month (which you can lock in for LIFE as a founding member) until September 15th, when the price increases to $87/month. 

xo,

P.S. If you have any questions at all, just hit reply and ask away. If you'd prefer to hop on the phone or Zoom for a 15-minute clarity call, grab a slot here

Wondering who I am?

I’m a certified intuitive eating counselor, standup comic, occupational therapist, and health and fitness journalist with bylines in outlets like The Washington Post, Time, Runner’s World, SELF, and many others.

Also a 6x marathoner, 2x Ironman finisher, and certified personal trainer with a 20+ year history of teaching indoor cycling, I love riding bikes (gravel and road) and weightlifting. My superpower is my ability to connect with people.

Check out how you can work with me here and follow me on LinkedIn and Instagram.

image credit: Briana Noonan