My weekend involved a dead mouse. I have zero regrets

My weekend involved a dead mouse. I have zero regrets.

Stuff you actually want to read about from Pam Moore

Hi ,On Saturday I decided today was going to be the day I finally got started on decluttering and reorganizing the garage. This project had been calling me all summer, but every weekend, something — a swim meet, a camping trip, an emergency pre-overnight-camp-sandal-shopping-Odyssey — got in the way. Although I knew there was no way I could get it all done, especially with Dan being out of town, I figured I could at least start. Four and a half hours and one dead mouse burial (and by burial I mean uncontrollably shrieking while shoveling his stiff, furry body into a garbage can) later, the task was 95% complete. And I felt a million times lighter with energy for days. I would have spent the entire next day with the label maker but sadly, my laundry and groceries weren’t about to do themselves and there are only so many hours in a day. While I was focused on laundry and grocery shopping, my 10-year-old asked to use the pogo stick. A hand-me-down from a neighbor, it had been in the garage for months. But having been stuck behind piles of god-knows-what, my kids could hardly see it until now. Meanwhile, every time I went through the garage, I walked through without stopping to move something out of the way. Today, when I had to adjust my bike, instead of dodging rogue scooters and errant balls, I went straight to the Allen wrenches, found the right one, and went to work. I hadn’t realized how much harder my family and I had to work to do the things we wanted and needed to do when there was so much junk in our way. I’m not saying you need to declutter your garage, create a capsule wardrobe, or sell all your stuff and live out of a fanny pack to be happy. I am saying I felt a profound sense of peace and focus after clearing my space of things that no longer serve me. 

xo,P.S. If you’re ready to stop letting thoughts about food, exercise, and your body monopolize your oh-so-valuable mental real estate, I’d love to help. Learn more about what I offer as an intuitive eating coach here or hit reply with your questions. (It’s just me on the other side of this email, not some Wizard of Oz-type email robot!)

P.P.S. I LOVE writing this newsletter and sending it to you. If you love seeing it land in your inbox, it would mean a lot to me if you'd share it with a friend. 

3 Things Worth Checking Out

  • If you have three minutes: This CNN article by Madeleine Holcomb calls out the myth that thin necessarily equals healthy myth and I am here for it. 

  • If you have an hour: Jessica Marshall is a rabbi, a recreational road cyclist, and a hard-core snacker. On Real Fit, we discussed all the things, including the importance of ritual, her preferred way to consume nut butter and jelly sandwiches, how she healed her relationship with food, and so much more. 

  • If you need a good novel: Cheat Day by Liv Stratman eviscerated the Cult of Wellness in the most funny, page-turner-y, empathetic way possible. I tore through it in a few days, highly recommend. 

The Real Fit podcast features real conversations with women athletes on topics like body image and confidence, my goal is to share stories that will let you know you're not alone and that you're already enough. Listen on Apple Podcasts, Spotify, and anywhere you listen to juicy podcasts. New episodes every other Tuesday.  I have some amazing guests lined up, but I'm totally open to suggestions. Hit reply and let me know who you want me to invite on the show!  

Are you ready to heal your relationship with food and exercise? 

I’m on a mission to help smart, bold women like you stop wasting your precious energy on the quest to shrink your body. You were made to do amazing things and your obsession with food, exercise, and body image is a huge distraction.Together we can clear that mental clutter and turbocharge your path to being your best self.I'm an intuitive eating coach, occupational therapist, and certified personal trainer and I offer 1:1 health coaching services

Thank you so much for inviting me into your inbox. 

If you appreciate receiving this newsletter, my podcast, or any of the other content I'm creating, you can show your gratitudeby treating me to a cup of coffee. 

Did you get this newsletter from a friend? CLICK HERE to get it directly in your inbox every other Tuesday.As an insider, you'll get your FREE guide:"11 Things You Can Do Right Now to Feel Better in Your Body."

Let's connect! 

Website
Instagram
Twitter
LinkedIn